Trapping Errors in my FORTRAN DLL

Trapping Errors in my FORTRAN DLL

Hey, is there something in FORTRAN (note I am not that experienced with FORTRAN) that is equivalent to the
ON ERROR statement in VB. I am trying to trap unknown or unexpected errors in my DLL so that my VB application does not fail. I would like to pass an ErrorFlag back to VB, but I cannot find anything in FORTRAN that traps just general errors. Anyone out there know how? Thanks

10 Beiträge / 0 neu
Letzter Beitrag
Nähere Informationen zur Compiler-Optimierung finden Sie in unserem Optimierungshinweis.

There's a chapter or two in the Visual Fortran Programmer's Guide on exception handling - I suggest you read this. Your options are limited when dealing with DLLs, which have no context to hang exception handling on.

Steve

Steve - Intel Developer Support

Steve,
The chapter on exception handling is one of most obscure pieces of fortran documnetation, which perhaps reflects the functionality itself. with the vague understandin it left me with, It was like there are only a few types of errors you can catch and even then you have to do all kinds of complicated things to catch the error instead of something like C--'s try/catch.

I tried the C-wrapper idea once on an inprocess com-dll and the compiler gave all kinds of errors.

I sent this question to vfsupport a very long time ago and noone even acknowledged it.

Is C-wrapper even an option?
If so can you/anyone provide a simple example of its usage aroubd a dll call?

Tim

I'll admit that exception handling is not the easiest thing to learn or use. You could use a C++ wrapper around your routines, I think.

If you got NO response to a vf-support request, then either we didn't receive it or the e-mail address you sent it from was invalid. Please try again.

Steve

Steve - Intel Developer Support