.Net 4 SDK

.Net 4 SDK

Hi, When will there be support for Apps developed with .NET 4 ? Thanks, Nir
13 Beiträge / 0 neu
Letzter Beitrag
Nähere Informationen zur Compiler-Optimierung finden Sie in unserem Optimierungshinweis.

Niro,

One could foreseeability use .NET 4 today. There are a few ways this could be accomplished, however most of them are not very elegant.

Brian,

Thanks for the reply , what I'd like to know when will .NET 4 be officially supported (if there are any plans for this soon)

In the mean time, could you elaborate on the "non elegant" ways you mentioned ?

Regards,
Nir

Niro,

I have no knowledge of the time-line, however implementations that may work for now are:

1.) .NET 4.0 Silent Install

Simply including the .NET 4.0 redistributable as a post installa action (silently) may work as well. It would require testing on XP and 7 to ensure it was truly silent and graceful. Command line switches similar to these would be needed:

/install /x86 /x64 /ia64 /parameterfolder Client /q /norestart

2.) Pre-loader written in .NET 3.5

Create a .NET 3.5 pre-loader exe. This exe functions as the target for your primary shortcuts, and it checks for the .NET 4.0 dependency. If needed it launches the .NET 4.0 installer (you could do a web installer or local redistributable). Once the dependency is satisfied you exec your primary executable.

The catch is that you would need to call the AppUp SDK from your pre-loader, and ensure the main (.NET 4.0) exe had some form of protection so that it could not be executed without AppUp SDK protection.

* Some developers have went so far as to add AppUp SDK authorization calls to both the pre-loader and the primary executable.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Thanks for the details Brian.

I did notice in the validation guidelines that it says apps will be rejected if they are submitted in .NET 4.
Is this incorrect?

Niro,