How To Utilize the Intel® Cluster Checker Level Command Line Parameter

Intel® Cluster Checker groups modules into levels based on the complexity and length of time to run each module. Levels range from Level 1 modules that perform basic functionality testing up to Level 5 modules that perform complex, exhaustive testing. In other words, Level 1 tests perform basic testing and stepping up through the levels means running more and more comprehensive tests.

The downside of running some test modules that provide exhaustive coverage of issues is that time it can take to run those modules. As such, it may be desired to limit when the high level tests (Levels 4 and 5) are executed to save time.

By default, Intel® Cluster Checker executes Level 3 tests and below. This behavior can be modified using the --level command line option to specify the top level to execute. This causes the tool to only run included tests that are of the specified level or lower. For instance, the following command will execute test modules that are Levels 1-4:

cluster-check config.xml --level 4

Similarily, the following will execute test modules that are Levels 1-2:

cluster-check config.xml --level 2

Examples of modules classified at each level:

  • Level 1: ping, kernel
  • Level 2: intel_cce_rtl, process_check
  • Level 3: imb_pingpong_intel_mpi
  • Level 4: hpcc
  • Level 5: intel_mpi_testsuite

One of the advantages of running lower levels is the tests will complete relatively quickly. Administrators can utilize varying levels to make quick daily checks of basic cluster functionality combined with less frequent higher level checks that are more exhaustive. The longer higher level checks can be scheduled for low resource usage times. See the Intel® Cluster Checker Advanced Guide for more information.

For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.