Configuring Intel® Cluster Checker

To run data collection followed by immediate analysis, users can run clck. Data collection and analysis can be run separately using either clck-collect or clck-analyze. All of these commands can be configured using command line options and the configuration file. 

Command Line Options

-c / --config=FILE: Specifies a configuration file. The default configuration file is CLCK_ROOT/etc/clck.xml.

-C / --re-collect-data: Attempts to re-collect any missing or old data for use in analysis. This option only applies to data collection.

-D / --db=FILE: Specifies the location of the database file. This option works in clck-analyze and in clck, but not currently in clck-collect.

-f / --nodefile: Specifies a nodefile containing the list of nodes, one per line. If a nodefile is not specified for clck or clck-collect, a Slurm query will be used to determine the available nodes. If no nodefile is specified for clck-analyze, the nodes already present in the database will be used.

-F / --fwd=FILE: Specifies a framework definition. If a framework definition is not specified, the health framework definition is used. This option can be used multiple times to specify multiple framework definitions. To see a list of available framework definitions, use the command line option -X list.

-h / --help: Displays the help message.

-l / --log-level: Specifies the output level. Recognized values are (in increasing order of verbosity): alert, critical, error, warning, notice, info, and debug. The default log level is error.

-M / --mark-snapshot: Takes a snapshot of the data used in an analysis. The string used to mark the data cannot contain the comma character "," or spaces. This option only applies to analysis.

-n / --node-include: Displays only the specified nodes in the analyzer output.

-o / --logfile: Specifies a file where the results from the run are written. By default, results are written to clck_results.log.

-r / --permutations: Number of permutations of nodes to use when running cluster data providers. By default, one permutation will run. This option only applies to data collection.

-S / --ignore-subclusters: Ignores the subcluster annotations in the nodefile. This option only applies to data collection.

-v / --version: Prints the version and exits.

-W / --compare-snapshots: Specifies the two snapshot strings (previously used with -M) to be compared. Only one use of the -W flag per analysis is currently supported. The framework definitions currently available for this functionality are files_snapshot, hardware_snapshot, and rpm_snapshot. This option only applies to analysis.

-X / --FWD_description: Prints a description of the framework definition if available. If the value passed is "list", then it prints a list of found framework definitions.

-z / --fail-level: Specifies the lowest severity level at which found issues fail. Recognizes values are (in increasing order of severity): informational, warning, and critical. The default level at which issues cause a failure is warning.

--sort-asc: Organizes the output in ascending order of the specified field. Recognized values are "id", "node", and "severity".

--sort-desc: Organizes the output in descending order of the specified field. Recognized values are "id", "node", and "severity."

For more information about the available command line options and their uses, run Intel® Cluster Checker with the -h option, or see the man pages.


The Configuration File

Intel® Cluster Checker provides a configuration file in XML format to allow for more detailed configuration. The config file is located at /opt/intel/clck/201n/etc/clck.xml. Intel® Cluster Checker uses this file by default, or you can pass it your own config file using the -c command line option. Config file tags are documented throughout the User Guide.

For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.