Communication Optimizations in HPC Workshop

When: Nov 18, 2016
Where: Room 355-D, Salt Palace Convention Center. Salt Lake City, UT, United States
Type: Workshop


The First International Workshop on Communication Optimizations in High-Performance Computing (COMHPC) is November 18, 2016, from 8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. MST. The best paper award will be announced during the workshop.

8:30 - 9:15 a.m.

Keynote: Bill Gropp, Acting Director and Chief Scientist, National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

9:15 - 10:05 a.m.

Technical Session 1:

  • Efficient Reliability Support for Hardware Multicast-Based Broadcast in GPU-Enabled Streaming Applications (9:15 a.m. – 11:35 a.m.): Ching-Hsiang Chu, Khaled Hamidouche, Hari Subramoni, Akshay Venkatesh, Bracy Elton, and Dhabaleswar Panda
  • Topology and Affinity-Aware, Hierarchical, and Distributed Load Balancing in Charm++ (9:35 a.m. – 9:55 a.m.): Francois Tessier, Emmanuel Jeannot, and Guillaume Mercier
  • Extending a Message-Passing Runtime to Support Partitioned, Global, Logical Address Spaces (9:55 a.m. – 10:05 a.m.): D. Brian Larkins and James Dinan
10:05 - 10:30 a.m. Break
10:30 a.m. - 12:10 p.m.

Technical Session 2:

  • DISP: Optimizations Towards Scalable MPI Startup (10:30 a.m. – 10:50 a.m.): Huansong Fu, Swaroop Pophale, Manjunath Venkata, and Weikuan Yu
  • Network Topologies and Inevitable Contention (10:50 a.m. – 11:10 a.m.): Grey Ballard, James Demmel, Andrew Gearhart, Benjamin Lipshitz, Yishai Oltchik, Oded Schwartz, and Sivan Toledo
  • Topology-Aware Data Aggregation for Intensive I/O on Large-Scale Supercomputers (11:10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.): Francois Tessier, Venkatram Vishwanath, Preeti Malakar, Emmanuel Jeannot, and Florin Isaila
  • Scalable Hierarchical Aggregation Protocol (SHArP): A Hardware Architecture for Efficient Data Reduction (11:30 a.m. – 11:50 a.m.): Richard Graham, Dror Goldenberg, Gil Bloch, Lion Levi, Alex Margolin, Gilad Shainer, and Alexander Shpiner
  • Topology-Aware Performance Optimization and Modeling of Adaptive Mesh Refinement Codes for Exascale (11:50 a.m. – 12:10 p.m.): Cy Chan, John Bachan, Joseph Kenny, Jeremiah Wilke, Vincent Beckner, Ann Almgren, and John Bell