Stack Overflow and setting Stack Size

Stack Overflow and setting Stack Size

I converted FORTRAN 77 code into dynamically allocating arrays. The size of the arrays are based on counting from a file that is read by one of the subroutines. I've discovered I need to set the stack size at 2MB for a 6MB read file, 6 MB for a 31 MB read file and I'm now at a stack size of 17MB for a 90 MB read file. These read files could be several GB in size. Is there ANY way to avoid having to reset the stack size all the time? I use EDITBIN rather than recompiling all the time. I can easily reset the stack size (but I'm a programmer and have the compiler), whereas our users won't be able to do this and we want to make this all invisible to them and just let them run any size of read files (which is why we went to dynamical allocation in the first place). Any answers out there????

19 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

There's got to be more to the story if you are indeed dynamically allocating arrays. How about sending a short example to us at vf-support@compaq.com and we'll take a look.

Steve

Retired 12/31/2016

Steve,