[Moblin]Building RPMs

[Moblin]Building RPMs

#1 Which is the prefered format to use for distributing applications via Intel App Store for Moblin, RPM or DEB? #2 Or do I have to provide both formats? (Documentation is not consistently) #3 What are the benefits when using the Moblin Package Creator instead of standard RPMBUILD command? #4 I guess I still have to manually write the .spec file anyway or can it be generated automatically? #5 Can I distribute executebles-only packages (without having the source included)? Alot of questions, but I'm quite new to the world of linux. /Mathias
12 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Hello Mathias,

please have a look at this page:

More details are on the Moblin website:

Best Regards,

Andre B.

Intel® Atom™ Developer Program

Thanks for your fast response!

However, the information provided on moblin.org does not make sense to me since I'm using Eclipse instead of the Anjuta IDE. I guess RPMBUILD is my only option.

Since packaging is a very important part of the development when deploying projects to Intel App Store, I really would like to see more information in this subject.

I think both Dell and ASUS' Moblin netbook products will only take DEB packaged apps. In other words, DEB is required if you want your apps to be installed and run at those machines.

I guess Intel should update all their document, because some documents still says that only one package (either rpm or deb) is required.

Hello All,

if you want to submit software for Mobilin please submit RPM and DEB packages. Both formats are required for submission (two packages in total).
The reason is that DEB packages are a requirement for Dell & ASUS netbooks who participate in this program.

Best Regards,

Andre B.

Intel® Atom™ Developer Program