Vectorize Loop : Pointer+Offset => Mixed Data Types ???

Vectorize Loop : Pointer+Offset => Mixed Data Types ???

Hello,

I'm new to vectorization and the ICC compiler. Using build 8.0.055.

After some diligence, I have tracked down a mixed-data-types message
to handle an equation of the type
(float *) = (float *) + (integer offset);

When I replace the integer offset with 0, I get successful vectorization, of
course this is not the equation I want. I've tried all kinds of casts and also
construct like &pArray[intOffset], all to no avail.

Is there a right way to do this ?
Is it really not possible to vectorize with expressions like this ?
Is it a bug ?

The actual code looks like...

for (ifa=0;ifa{
float *pH2 = pHisto+(*pAY++);// *pAY is unsigned short
qst+= ((*pH2)*(*pAC++)*(aTC));// everything else is float or float*
}
Thanks for any help !
-rajeev-
Rajeev Rohatgi
rohatgi@photodetection.com

18 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Did you try assigning the unsigned short value to a local float outside the loop, assuming that it is loop invariant?

Tim,

Thanks for your super-prompt reply. But alas *pAY is not loop-invariant
(note: *pAY++). What I have is a big input table (pHisto), a list of offsets
(pAY) and a list of coefficients (pAC) which I need to multiply and accumulate.
qst gets stored to an output table outside the loop.

Regards,
-rajeev-
Rajeev Rohatgi

Dear Rajeev,

If the compiler is able to report a mixed data type, then this is obviously not a bug, but simply a missing feature:-) in this version of the compiler (incidentally, the conversion of a [un]signed short into a float is supported within the computational context, but that does not help your example). Your specific example has a fewcomplications that make straightforward vectorization with the current SIMD extensions difficult. In particular, the sequence

float *pH2 = pHisto+(*pAY++);

.. *pH2 ..