Preliminary results on a parallelizing runtime for an implicitly parallel language

Preliminary results on a parallelizing runtime for an implicitly parallel language

INTRO
--------------------------------------------------

Hello everyone, my name is Dan Amelang and I'm a PhD student at the University of California, San Diego. As part of my dissertation research I'm developing a declarative, implicitly parallel programming language. The language is similar to previous work in dataflow, stream processing and functional languages. Closely related work includes SISAL, Kahn Process Networks, Dataflow Process Networks, and StreamIt, among others. It also borrows from Haskell somewhat.

Up to now, the focus has been on making the language as expressive as possible. But, as of last October, the language design was mostly complete and I had a fairly large case study, so I decided to give a shot at parallelizing programs written in the language. Because the language is implicitly parallel, no program modifications should be needed to get parallel execution. I only needed to modify the compiler and runtime.

ADDING PARALLEL SUPPORT

The previous runtime had to be completely rewritten. In particular, scheduling and garbage collection required redesigning (after reading several papers on the topics). Problems with false sharing required restructuring internal data structures. It was quite an adventure, but eventually I come up with something I was happy with.

Unfortunately, the changes to the runtime meant that the compiler would have to generate code somewhat differently (the compiler generates C source code as its output). I should point out that all the "parallel smarts" are in the runtime -- the compiler merely generates code that uses the runtime's API.