Help on linking with MKL 10.0.011

Help on linking with MKL 10.0.011

I'm studying how to program with mkl and I wrote a test program that call vmlSetMode and vdAsin function. Now the problem is that I can compile it via mkl 9.1, but failed to compile it with mkl 10.0.011. I included the header file "mkl_vml.h", and specified these corresponding environment path variables to link with the library.

The following is the compilation process:

icc -o test test.cpp -lvml ( link with mkl 9.1 ok)
icc -o test test.cpp -lmkl_vml_ia ( failed to link with mkl 10.0.011:
undefined reference to `vmlSetMode'
undefined reference to `vdAsin')

16 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

I don't know the answer to your specific problem. In general, the new "layered" scheme of MKL 10 requires linking multiple libraries. For example, it may be necessary to append -lmkl_core.
Several of us had to search to find the new library link sequence. For example, you can use 'nm libmkl_core.a | grep vmlSetMode' to see quickly whether that symbol is defined in that library.

As tim18 said, in MKL 10.0 new layered model was implemented. Now we have three layers: interface (libmkl_intel.a/.so), threading (libmkl_intel_thread.a/.so, libmkl_gnu_thread.a/.so, libmkl_sequential.a/.so) and computation (libmkl_core.a/.so). In brackets I put libraries enough for successful link with VML at linux IA32 (for more information you can look into documentation). When you linking your application, you should use one library from each layer. For example, if you want receive sequential version of VML you should link your application with following libraries: libmkl_intel.a/.so + libmkl_sequential.a/.so + libmkl_core.a/.so. In case of dynamical MKL usage, path to libmkl_vml_XXX.so libraries should be provided to OS dynamic loader (commonly, LD_LIBRARY_PATH system environment variable used for this purpose).