IPS/VS 2008 SP1 Fails to build the NQueens Tutorial project...

IPS/VS 2008 SP1 Fails to build the NQueens Tutorial project...

Hi!

Im getting an error when trying to run/rebuild the tutorial project NQueens, included in the IPS installation directory.

First I get a message saying that VS needs to convert the project to VS 2008 from an older version, the conversion sucseeds, but when I try to run / rebuild the solution I get the message:

Message: catastrophic error: could not open source file "windows.h"

File: C:\Users\Ringo\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\NQueens-ParallelStudio\NQueens-ParallelStudio\Step4-Parallel-Tune\nq-parallelfinal.cpp

Line: 55

I'm pretty new to this whole Intel C++ stuff. Anybody that would care to explain?

If I remove #include from pre-processing, there will naturally be a slew of new errors...

Help is, as always, highly appreciated.

With metta:

Chris

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Chris,

It seems that you had anolder NQueens VS project (with an older Parallel Studio installation) on your machine before updating Parallel Studio. Or something got corrupt on the project.
You can re-install all sample projects since all of them come as .zip files in (default) C:Program FilesIntelParallel StudioComposerSamplesen_USC++.
Extract the NQueens.zip to a new working directory and start the NQueens.sln again.
Does this help?
Hubert.

Quoting - Hubert Haberstock (Intel)

Chris,

It seems that you had anolder NQueens VS project (with an older Parallel Studio installation) on your machine before updating Parallel Studio. Or something got corrupt on the project.
You can re-install all sample projects since all of them come as .zip files in (default) C:Program FilesIntelParallel StudioComposerSamplesen_USC++.
Extract the NQueens.zip to a new working directory and start the NQueens.sln again.
Does this help?
Hubert.