Parallel Inspector - Windows Service

Parallel Inspector - Windows Service

Hi all,

I'm new to parallel Studio. I successfully used Parallel Inspector to find memory isssues in programs that can be started from the command line. Is there a recommended way to use Parallel Inspector with a process that is implementing a Windows service?

I already tried to run the service interactively from the command line but inspector does not return results since I have to terminate the process by using the stop button. This seems to be expected Inspector hehavior.

Thanks,
Lars

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

In the case of Parallel Inspector, the application must be launched by Parallel Inspector. You said you ran it from the command line, but then you say you pressed the stop button. Did you mean you configured Parallel Inspector to start the service from within Visual Studio and when you pressed the Stop button there were no results?

Regards,
MrAnderson

Not exactly. Here is the long version:

I have an exe that usually runs as a service. However for development reasons the exe can also be started from the command line. I used this setup with inspector. However the process cannot be terminated in a usual way. When I press the inspectors red stop button I get no results. Same when I kill the process with Ctrl+C or task manager.

So my question are

1. how can one inspect long running server programs that usually do not terminate themselves? I read somewhere in this forum that results are only collected when the program terminates normally.
2. What is Intels recommendation on how to inspect processes that implement windows services. My current understanding is: This is not possible at all - which makes the whole thing useless for me.

Thanks,
Lars