Browse for folder

Browse for folder

Hello,

I am new to IVF and I am attempting to display a BrowseForFolder dialog. I downloaded some code from the IVF forum (CmnDlgChooseFolder sample code posted by Paul-Curtis 02-24-2005) but I am having a couple of problems with it.

1. It calls CoTaskMemFree to free the memory allocated by the SHBrowseForFolder function. However CoTaskMemFree generates an unresolved exrernal error, even though I have the "use ole32" statement, in placeand I have added ole32.lib to the list of default libraries for the linker. I noticed that ole32.f90 does not include an interface for CoTaskMemFree, and so I have tried to create my own interface, but I can't get it right. Does anyone know how to use these functions correctly? Or is there another way to free the memory?

2. My BrowseForFolder dialog displays behind all other windows, instead of on top. Any idea why that would happen?

Help would begreatly appreciated - thanks very much.

31 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Here is the missing Interface:

Code:

interface
  subroutine CoTaskMemFree (pvoid)
    !DEC$ IF DEFINED(_X86_)
    !DEC$ ATTRIBUTES STDCALL, ALIAS:'_CoTaskMemFree@4' :: CoTaskMemFree
    !DEC$ ELSE
    !DEC$ ATTRIBUTES STDCALL, ALIAS: 'CoTaskMemFree'   :: CoTaskMemFree
    !DEC$ ENDIF
    integer :: pvoid
  end subroutine CoTaskMemFree
end interface

2. My BrowseForFolder dialog displays behind all other windows, instead of on top. Any idea why that would happen?

You probably gave it an invalid or NULL parent window handle.

XeffortLite sample contains module XFTFile which contains XBrowse wrapper routine for ShBrowseForFolder. It also allows you to specify the initial directory for the dialog (and I find the software which always lets you start browsing from "My Computer" very annoying).

Jugoslav

Jugoslav
www.xeffort.com

Code:

module BrowseFolder

interface