New user of Intel fortran on Win XP-64

New user of Intel fortran on Win XP-64

Hi,

I am a new user to the Intel Fortran Forum.
I have come here to gain access to a 64-bit compiler and also manage multi processor computation.
I have a lot of experience in the 32-bit microsoft windows environment, using Lahey and Salford compilers and am hoping to get a new level of performance in this new environment.

To date I have managed to compile link and run my 32-bit program using the Intel 64-bit compiler, with only 2 minor problems:
1) Is there a routine of the form Get_IOSTAT_Message (IOSTAT, Message_return). I couldn't find it.
2) I notice RECL= is a 4-byte word count rather than the fortran standard byte count.
This program uses about 1.7gb of memory.

I have also run a simple test program which allocates large arrays (8gb) in size which appears to confirm I am getting access to more than 2gb of addressable memory. So far so good.

My next problem is to try and introduce some processor efficiency.
I tried "ifort /?" and was swamped with options about optimisation and hardware options. Should I hnow what this means or do I have to go through a learning curve to use these options !!
I have a dual core Xeon pc, but was lost as to what to select to:
- get better performance suited to this processor,
- be able to target multi-thread calculations.

My software is basically Finite Element calculations, where for large problems, there are two "3-line do loop"routines that do most of the work. (dot_product : c = vec_a . vec_b and vector subtraction : vec_a = vec_a - c . vec_b) Do I compile just these rotines only with the special options, or also the main procedure or all the code ? Also,what are the options ?

Hopefully I can post this message on the forum and start to learn this new compiler environment which appears to have so much potential. I thank you for your assistance.

John

29 posts / 0 new
Last post