"Calling Conventions" Default vs "CVF (/iface:cvf)"

"Calling Conventions" Default vs "CVF (/iface:cvf)"

Okay, just when you think you've gotten over the hurdle in a mix-language programming project something always comes out of left field to bring you to a grinding halt.

I have one project involving calling DLLs from Excel that I've been using for several years now. The Fortran was originally coded using Compaq Visual Fortran. I have strings that I pass back and forth between Exce and Fortran using the "CVF" hidden string length convention; the hidden stringth length arguments in the call to Fortran immediately follows the string arguments in the calling statement. No problem.

When I migrated to Intel Visual Fortran, the convention changed to putting all the hidden string arguments "After All Arguments" in the calling statement. Instead of making a lot of code changes at the time I discovered that I could tell IVF to use the CVF calling convention. This has worked just fine ever since.

I am now designing another Excel/Fortran DLL application modeled closely on the on above. The difference is, I need to make a call to a C routine from the Fortran DLL (yes, this is the same project that is a subject of my previous threads; I have been making progress). I've discovered in working the C/Fortran issues that C (in Visual Studio 2005 or Visual Studio itself) apparently needs to see this hidden string length using the IVF convention in the calls between C and Fortran; i.e. with all the hidden length arguments "After All Arguments" in the calling statement. I don't think I can change the calling convention on the C side.