Quickwin request: support for shift-tab key

Quickwin request: support for shift-tab key

As a Quickwin developer I often create child windows that contain multiple regions, say a text region or graphics region as part of a gui, and I need to support keystroke navigation by the user. It is simple enough to support the <tab> key to go from one region to another, just as in a Windows dialog. But in a Windows dialog you can also use <Shift-Tab> to go backwards. In Quickwin there is apparently no way to trap this keystroke, and thus the only way to access some regions is the lengthy (irritating) process of "going round the world."

Quickwin provides the PASSDIRKEYS do intercept direction and page keys before Windows grabs them, to give the programmer (me) control over them. Surely this could be expanded to do the same for <Shift-Tab>?

There are a few other keys that would also be very good to support, but this is the most obvious one and appears to be a simple oversight.

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

I have not used the Quickwin routines, so you probably know more about what you are doing and what you need than me.

Have you looked at the Xeffort libraries and interfaces to Windows dialogs, e.g. at xeffort.com?

Regards, David

I'm aware of Xeffort, but a quick browse of that homepage tells me they don't have anything like this. Although I have to confess, the product may not be well presented because it seems they don't offer many useful tools (for me) at all. I may be missing something.

Can you post a simple example that shows what you refer to? I couldn't come up with one, but I'm not really well versed in QuickWin. As far as I knew, text and graphics "regions" were just parts of the bitmap and there was no support for tabbing.

Steve - Intel Developer Support

I think the OP is reffering to using tab to cyle though the controls on a dialog in the pre-defined tab order.