Newbie has question on Buying the intel camera for Faceshift

Newbie has question on Buying the intel camera for Faceshift

Hello,

I am new to this and have learned a lot in the last few weeks but am having an issue deciding if the Intel camera can work for me.

FG,VF0800 3D GESTURE CAM GEN2 DEVELOPER KIT

i will have access to Faceshift for a year

I have a pretty nice PC that i use with Adobe Premiere Cloud for video editing. It is Windows 7 professional

i think it is only a 3rd generation i7 processor 24 gb ram and ssd drives

Will this camera work for me?

Thanks for any help!!!

Shasta

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

camera requires windows 8.1 or later.

Hi Mark,

USB 3.0 is a must to get camera works, and it has to be plugged directly not using hub.

Thanks!

i have USB 3 into the mother board

i guess the 8.1 knocks me out of this camera...any other camera suggestions?

Hi Mark,

Having a third generation processor is your biggest problem.  Whilst some of the simpler functions will work on a gen 3 machine, all the cool stuff like face and hand tracking needs a gen 4 chip.  And if Unity is being used to develop an app, gen 4 is a must.

Having Windows 7 is not necessarily a barrier, as you will be able to upgrade Win 7 to Windows 10 for free in a couple of months when it launches.  A preview version of Win 10 is already available that works brilliantly with RealSense (I use it on my machine).

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/preview-iso

Regarding the advice above about USB hubs not working: although this is the official advice from Intel, they actually do work with the camera and numerous people have solved problems with using the camera with their computer's in-built USB port by using a hub.  The vital thing is that it is a *powered* hub - one that gets its power externally from the mains supply rather than from the computer.

Hi Mark