X marks what spot?

X marks what spot?

I am new to writing CVF windows apps.

I selected a simple dialog app from the initial NEW project screen,
then compiled it without any changes. While the default Exit button closes the app (i.e. calls the xxxsub handler with dlg_destroy msg), the window-X (upper right corner) does absolutely nothing, and the handler is never called.

I don't even know where to begin to look.
The project is >100K so I do not think I can attach it here, but if it helps I can post it somewhere else for download.

Any ideas will be appreciated.

Tim

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Click on X button generates IDCANCEL event, i.e. it is the same as if user clicked Cancel button. If you change the ID of Exit button to IDCANCEL, you'll get the desired behaviour.

I'd note that IMNSHO designers of CVF application wizards could have done a bit better job in this respect. Btw, I find tabs in generated source code annoying (apart from the fact that they're non-standard).

Jugoslav

Jugoslav
www.xeffort.com

Thanks,
It does work, but I am still confused about how this works.

If you are inclined to write more:

1.Without this change, who catches the event generated by the X button?,

2. Now with the change how does changing the ID on one button affect the other?

3. what is the difference between IDCANCEL and ID_EXIT?

Thanks,
Tim

IDOK (=1) and IDCANCEL (=2) are system-predefined values.