LNK 2001 error

LNK 2001 error

mdfischer's picture

I see that a lot of people have posted questions about getting LNK2001 errors, but I still haven't been able to fix my problem.

I am relatively new to CVS, so bear with me. I have a project with a main program and several subroutines and includes. I could compile, link, and execute this program with no problems. Then I had to change some of the subroutines. Now, everything compiles with no errors, but in the liking stage I get several LNK2001 errors:

Linking...
ReadWind.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _READZIP@20
Readzip.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _GETDATA@4
Readzip.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _WRITEDATA@16
Debug/ReadWind.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 3 unresolved externals
Error executing link.exe.

Where ReadWind is the main program, Readzip is a subroutine called my ReadWind, and GetData and WriteData are subroutines called by Readzip.

I'm stuck, can anybody help?

thanks
michele

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.
Community Admin's picture

Michele,
your code simply references to something that linker can't find and raises error. As the description in CVF docs reads there are two reasons of that: (1) what the code asks doesn't exists and (2) you're using mixed versions of the libraries (maybe the mod files are mismatched).

The place to look at is, definitely, the ReadZip routine. Linker informs you that there is something wrong with GetData routine (on x86 after @the number of bytes (in decimal) is given required for the argument list).

Maybe you call that routine (ReadZip) from ReadWind with different number of arguments (I mean that declaration within ReadZip is different than that what you call from ReadWind). Look at variables of 4, 16, and 20 bytes). If the problem persists I'll try to think about something else.

Artur

Steve Lionel (Intel)'s picture