Fortran compiler and AMD 64-bit development

Fortran compiler and AMD 64-bit development

postaquestion's picture

Which flavor (IA-32, Itanium, EM64T) of FORTRAN compiler (F90) needs to be used on AMD Opteron for 64-bit application development?

Thanks in advance.

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.
Steve Lionel (Intel)'s picture

EM64T. This is discussed in the Installation Guide and Release Notes.

Steve
Mijail F.'s picture

Good Day to everybody

I am a CFD engineer and I am a newbi programmer and I use many allocatable arrays in intel visual fortran 11.1.051. My code solves a CFD problem in a good reasonable time when compiled with Fortran Build Environment for App .... IA-32 like this:

ifort /O2 m_text.f90 mgeom.f90 bcond.f90 flux.f90 coeff.f90 momentum.f90 solver.f90 correction.f90 writed.f90 readg.f90 MFS.f90 /exe:Main.exe

Recently I did a test with the Fortran Build Environment for App .... Intel(R) 64, using the same code, same compilation command, and applied to the same CFD problem, and it runs painfully slow (when compared to the 32-bit compilation).

I did this test on my computer that runs under Windows 7 64-bit, with a AMD Turion II M500 Dual-Core. I know that some optimizations might not work with AMD processors, but why my code works fine with a 32 bit compilation and why it gets really slow when compiled with 64 bit?

Am I asking the right question?

Thank in advanced for any answer you could give me.

Mijail

Annalee (Intel)'s picture

Processor specific optimizations are not turned on by default. How much of a performance degridation are you see? The longer adresses in 64bit applications can cause a slight slowdown, but in most cases it should not be dramatic. 

I would suggest trying your program on other machines and with a newer version of the compiler. The current version is 13.1. 11.1 is no longer supported.

Sergey Kostrov's picture