It is possible for Intel Power Gadget 2.0 to crash Windows

It is possible for Intel Power Gadget 2.0 to crash Windows

I sorry if it is in the wrong forum, but it is my first time

I probably cannot reproduce the problem. I am just posting that it is possible for the Intel Power Gadget to invoke BOSD. I wonder if this crash dump is useful.

I am running window 7 64 bit Home Premium Service Pack 1

Here is a small snippet of windbg

Could not read faulting driver name
Probably caused by : EzPwr.sys ( EzPwr+111e )

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (50)
Invalid system memory was referenced. This cannot be protected by try-except,
it must be protected by a Probe. Typically the address is just plain bad or it
is pointing at freed memory.
Arguments:
Arg1: fffff88003fb2758, memory referenced.
Arg2: 0000000000000001, value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation.
Arg3: fffff88009eb011e, If non-zero, the instruction address which referenced the bad memory
address.
Arg4: 0000000000000000, (reserved)

I have attached the dump.

Thank You for your time

AttachmentSize
Download 071812-23072-01.dmp281.37 KB
13 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Driver or thread running its code in kernel mode must not incure page fault at DPC- level IRQL.

In your case driver should have been used ProbeForRead/ProbeForWrite kernel mode function before performing any further operation on the memory.

The question is: It is possible for Intel Power Gadget 2.0 to crash Windows

>>...
>>Could not read faulting driver name
>>Probably caused by : EzPwr.sys ( EzPwr+111e )
>>...

If EzPwr.sys is Intel's driver ( please verify it... ) than answer is Yes and BSOD is your prove.

If EzPwr.sys is Intel's driver ( please verify it... ) than answer is Yes and BSOD is your prove.

Agree completely.

Citação:

iliyapolak escreveu:

Agree completely.