JITted code support

JITted code support

tom.deneau@amd.com's picture

Does SDE have support for dynamically JITted code such as from a Java JVM?

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.
Mark Charney (Intel)'s picture

yes, sde supports JITs. SDE is built in pin. Pin has two mechanisms for handling self modifying code. If the default does not work, i believe there is an advanced knob that costs more at runtime but catches more cases. Ususally the default is fine though.

I am a newbie at this, but I am trying the following:

sde -mix -- java -version

Where java.exe is a 64-bit executable on my path.

sde/pin seems to want to execute a 32-bit java.exe whereas if I just type java on the command line I get a 64-bit JVM. If I explicitly put the full pathname to the 64-bit jvm on the sde command line, it just returns with no output.

What am I doing wrong?

Never saw that kind of thing before. I just confirmed that on my system (below). Looks like you found a bug. Thanks for reporting this issue.

% sdekit/sde -- java -version java version "1.6.0_24" Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) Java HotSpot Client VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode, sharing) % java -version java version "1.6.0_24" Java SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_24-b07) Java HotSpot 64-Bit Server VM (build 19.1-b02, mixed mode)