"Visual Debugger MFC Frontend has stopped working"

"Visual Debugger MFC Frontend has stopped working"

Hello,I am a newbie trying to use Havok for an academic project. One of the problems I am having right out of the box is that the Visual Debugger does not start. When I double click the icon in Windows Explorer, Iimmediatelyget an error popup saying :Havok Visual Debugger MFC Frontend has stopped working." It also points out that "Windows is checking for a solution to the problem..." but unsurprisingly it finds none.I was able to reproduce this error on two machines (these are all machines I tried). The only thing both machines have in common is that they run Windows 7 (32 bit). Both have Visual Studio 2010 installed, which shouldn't matter I think. The Havok I am using is a just downloaded 7.1 to which I did nothing but extracting from the archive.I tried the various compatibility modes that Windows offers as well as running the program as administrator, but to no avail.Any ideas?

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Hey jonemo,

You might want to check if there's an entry for the VDB in the system registry, and if so, try clearing it... that seems to be a common way to resolve this error. If that doesn't help, I might recommend running depends.exe (you can grab this online... seach for 'Dependency Walker') which should reveal the dlls that the VDB requires to run. This might give you an idea of what dlls (if any) you are missing.

Chris

Developer Support Engineer
Havok
www.havok.com