Cilk++ compiler bug when calling CLAPACK functions

Cilk++ compiler bug when calling CLAPACK functions

Hello again,

As before, I am attempting to use Cilk++ with CLAPACK to perform high performance matrix operations. I have tried to do my research but have been unable to resolve this on my own. Thanks so much for your excellent support! I'm new to Cilk++ so I apologize if I am missing something I should be doing.

The offending CLAPACK functions are dtrsm_ and dgemm_. You can find the netlib reference for these at http://www.netlib.org/blas/dtrsm.f and http://www.netlib.org/blas/dgemm.f respectively. The particular versions I am using have been built using the standard reference BLAS on a Fedora 13 machine with an Intel Core 2 Duo. The compiler bug only manifests itself when I attempt to introduce parallelism with either cilk_spawn or cilk_for. The code compiles fine with the Cilk++ compilier but without the parallel context.

My initial piece of code was written with cilk_for:

cilk_for( int i = k+1; i < P; i++)
	{
	  dtrsm_(&SIDE, &UPLO, &TRANSA, &DIAG, &pSize, &pSize, &ALPHA, B[k][k], &pSize, B[i][k], &pSize);
	}

int R = k+1;
      for( int i = k+1; i < P; i++)
	{
	  R++;
	  cilk_for( int j = k+1; j < R; j++)
	    {
	      dgemm_(&gemmTRANSA,&gemmTRANSB,&pSize,&pSize,&pSize,&gemmALPHA,B[i][k],&pSize,B[j][k],&pSize,&gemmBETA,B[i][j],&pSize);
	    }
	}
    }

Which produced the following error:(line 156 refers to the call to degmm_, but if I remove the cilk_for around dgemm_ the same error moves to the line that calls dtrsm_)

blockChol3.cilk: In function int cilk my_main(int, char**):
blockChol3.cilk:148: warning: loop condition compares loop variable to wider type
blockChol3.cilk: In function void __cilk_loop_d_002(void*, long unsigned int, long unsigned int):
blockChol3.cilk:156: warning:  is used uninitialized in this function
blockChol3.cilk:113: note:  was declared here
blockChol3.cilk:156: internal compiler error: in make_decl_rtl, at varasm.c:1015