Can we make a demo with FLASH?

Can we make a demo with FLASH?

I'm a FLASH developer that wants to enter the competition. From what I've seen in the rules, this contest is mostly for C/C++ games, the problem is that I haven't done any game programming in C and because of that whatever I make in Flash will be vastly superior.

My question is this, can I participate with a FLASH game? Will I have the same chance of winning as a C++ game (or at least close) ?

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Can someone please answer my question? I'd really like to get started on development, Thanks!

I think you should invest time learning C++ for the this contest. There is plenty of time yet...

I think you might be right though I'd much rather make use of technologies I'm already familiar with. I's really a shame we can't even use XNA Game Studio because the Intel SDK's are only for C/C++. Ah well...

i think as most of the industry AAA games are either made in C/C++ and intel SDK is mainly concentrating on thier products which uses C/C++...its a Bummer that we can't use XNA game studio, it would have been easy to do in C#,but the FLASH games as the question arises is rather natural as most of the ppl also play Online games but the Intel Parallel studio is made for C/C++ and u should make games on this programming language and it is a basic necessity....

ANUP
www.facebook.com/anupyadavk

Anup www.facebook.com/anupyadavk

I understand what you're saying but I'm not a C++ developer nor a AAA+ game company and when it comes to small games or demos Flash is a much better alternative because you'll have less code to write.
On the other hand I can't blame Intel for trying to promote it's toolkit but in my opinion this will scare away some designers that are accustomed to using Actionscript or C#.

They are probably not aiming at that kind of language/script.