... getting started

... getting started

I'm new to Intel (Fortran/Windows) compilers and have installed the 31 day evaluation for Visual Fortran. I have some experience with gfortran and Lahey but there's nothing like a new system to make you feel stupid. After installing, neither Visual Studio nor the command line could find the compiler or linker. After finding the compiler by searching directories and pointing to it the build.bat for one of the samples could find the compiler but not the linker. I tried copying xlink.exe into the same directory to no avail. Help! The 31 day clock is ticking...

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Quoting - dkstevens
I'm new to Intel (Fortran/Windows) compilers and have installed the 31 day evaluation for Visual Fortran. I have some experience with gfortran and Lahey but there's nothing like a new system to make you feel stupid. After installing, neither Visual Studio nor the command line could find the compiler or linker. After finding the compiler by searching directories and pointing to it the build.bat for one of the samples could find the compiler but not the linker. I tried copying xlink.exe into the same directory to no avail. Help! The 31 day clock is ticking...

The command line environment is set up in the Fortran command prompt window under Intel software on the start menu. The linker is the same one used by Visual Studio for all compilers, so it should be present if your Visual Studio is installed correctly. The only way I've run into not finding the linker automatically is the case where another linker is installed. Then the Microsoft linker path has to be added in ifort.cfg.
Do you have Microsoft C++ working (both 32- and 64-bit, if using ifort Intel64)?

In order to compile a program you frst have to run the follwing comand: