1D - FFT

1D - FFT

Hi,

I am a newbie using the FFT, I have some question about the input and output data format using the FFT Functions.

DFTI_DESCRIPTOR *my_desc_handle;
  long status;
  status = DftiCreateDescriptor( &my_desc_handle, DFTI_SINGLE, DFTI_REAL, 1, N);
  status = DftiCommitDescriptor( my_desc_handle);
  status = DftiComputeForward( my_desc_handle, y);
  status = DftiFreeDescriptor( &my_desc_handle );

Well, my input data y is real. After the transformation y contains not only real but also imaginary data. Is there a workaround ?

thx

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Hi,

It depends on what you need from the spectrum y. If you want to discard the phase and use the power, you should use the magnitude (sqrt(re^2+im^2)) of the y's complex numbers.
Alternatively, if you needa real-to-real transform, look into trigonometric transforms section of MKL Refernce Manual.

Dima

Hi,

It depends on what you need from the spectrum y. If you want to discard the phase and use the power, you should use the magnitude (sqrt(re^2+im^2)) of the y's complex numbers.
Alternatively, if you needa real-to-real transform, look into trigonometric transforms section of MKL Reference Manual.

Dima

Quoting - sicb0161
Hi,

I am a newbie using the FFT, I have some question about the input and output data format using the FFT Functions.

DFTI_DESCRIPTOR *my_desc_handle;
  long status;
  status = DftiCreateDescriptor( &my_desc_handle, DFTI_SINGLE, DFTI_REAL, 1, N);
  status = DftiCommitDescriptor( my_desc_handle);
  status = DftiComputeForward( my_desc_handle, y);
  status = DftiFreeDescriptor( &my_desc_handle );

Well, my input data y is real. After the transformation y contains not only real but also imaginary data. Is there a workaround ?

thx

Hi,

if I recall correctly you need to use DFTISetValue and select (from many) options you need, say, something along the lines: