Mesh material

Mesh material

Hi!

I'm new to Havok and I'd like to know what would be the best practice for setting up mesh materials for shapes to assign material properties like wood, road, dirt to a rigid body.

I'm working on a racing game and I'd like to add effects and different driving behaviour depending on the ground the vehicle is driving on.

I'd also like to know whether and how these material properties could be assigned using a design tool like Maya or 3dsmax.

Thank you for your help!

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.
sean.thurston's picture

Hi S_W,

There are a few ways to go about doing these different materials for your game. They range from somewhat easy, but not very extensible or elegant, to a way which is a little more difficult to understand and implement, but has its own advantages. I'll do my best to give the basic ideas for each.

This first one deals with assigning one "material" type to a rigid body(on a per body basis, instead of on a per-face basis).

#1 This one is the easiest, just give each rigid body the name you want the material to have("Grass", "Dirt," etc.) and get all the fixed geometry of that type into one fixed rigid body. Export those rigid bodies.

Then you need to look at hkpVehicleRaycastWheelCollide. You'll need to overwrite one or more of the methods in your own extended class(specifically calcSingleWheelGroundFriction might be one to look at). The idea is that you cast a ray down from each wheel and determine which shape your wheel is on. Then add the line

vehicle.m_wheelCollide = new MyVehicleRaycastWheelCollide;

when you are setting up your vehicle.