Multicore and ME

Multicore and ME

Zander Sprague (Intel)'s picture

Hi there,

My name is Zander Sprague and I am the Americas Geography Manager for Intel Software College. This my first foray into the forums and I hope not my last.

Although I have a good understanding of Multicore and the technology that Intel makes, I would not say that I am very technical, so I will not be talking about technical aspects of this subject.

What I really wanted to share was my perspective of what Multicore means to me and possibly you. Going forward all the processors that are made will be at least 2 cores if not more. This is exciting to me, there is hope that my computer will be able to do a virus scan and e-mail and gaming all at once. In the past, when my virus checker started I went to get a coffee, because it slammed my system.

I have been a technical instructor for many years. I have had to learn a lot of new programs and then turn around and teach them. Some were very complex and the technology behind it so new that I was helping to define how to teach it. I see the same thing for University professors today. You are faced with the task of integrating Multicore and Parallel programming into your curriculum. You maybe asking "How do I do that"?

I know how you are feeling; I have been in similar situations. Luckily, there is the Intel Academic Community is here to help you. There is a cornucopia of resources for you, and I want to be your partner in bringing Multicore, Manycores, and parallel programming to your students.

Why not MASTER MULTICORE WITH INTEL?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.
jeffrey-gallagher (Intel)'s picture

Well said, Zander.

Anybody out there have any experiences with many core programming and want to discuss or compare with others? This would be an ideal thread for that! Don't be shy: post away!

Cheers,

jdg

Thomas Willhalm (Intel)'s picture

Zander,