Alternative to COMMON in Fortran 90

Alternative to COMMON in Fortran 90

Hi!

I am a F90 newbie and need advice on the following problem. I am converting an old program from F77 to F90. In this program a number of time-dependent differential equations are solved for different but coupled geometries (so-called linked runs) by looping through all geometries during each time step. In the F77 version, all the variables and constants for all runs are stored in one large array, and the variables for the current run are accessed via a COMMON-block. To read/write all variables for each run the following type of coding is used:

C main program 
real store_vars(12,3) 
integer irun 
real a,b,c(10) 
common /variables/a,b,c 

do irun=1,3 
C Read variables for current run from storage array. 
    call store(irun,'R',store_vars) 
C Do stuff with a,b and c... 
C Write variables for current run to storage array. 
    call store(irun,'W',store_vars) 
enddo 
end 

subroutine store(irun,action,store_vars) 
integer irun 
character action 
real store_vars(12,3),run_vars(12) 
common /variables/run_vars 
if (action.eq.'W') 
C Write to storage array. 
    do i=1,12 
        store_vars(i,irun)=run_vars(i) 
    enddo 
else 
C Read from storage array. 
    do i=1,12 
        run_vars(i)=store_vars(i,irun) 
    enddo 
endif 
return 
end