Clarification on license for listed patents

Clarification on license for listed patents

Hi

BSD style licenses don't cover patents at all. Can you please clarify the license or permitted use of the software containing the patents listed.

U.S. Patent 5,812,852
    U.S. Patent 6,792,599
    U.S. Patent 7,069,556
    U.S. Patent 7,328,433
    U.S. Patent 7,500,242

If this is the incorrect place to inquire about this matter please redirect me to the appropriate contact.

Thanks

Christopher

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

This is the right place to ask.

I am not a lawyer,so

1. I will have to check with them
  2. This is not a definitive statement

However it is certainly our intent that the library is freely usable in commercial products.

Hi James,

Great to see you active here. I really appreciate your response and good luck in chasing down a more binding answer.

--------------

I don't know if it fits with Intel's licensing strategy, but the easiest way may be to change the license to APL2 or dual license it BSD/APL2. Some explicit patent licensing language could be added, but that may be more expensive or super low priority to get done.

Regards,

Christopher

Christoper,