Program Mysteriously Shutting Down

Program Mysteriously Shutting Down

I have a strange problem that just started popping up with a program I have been marketing for ten years now. It seems to be related to Win-7, but I cannot reproduce it on any of my own computers. The program installs and runs, but after roughly ten seconds, it shuts down on its own. I'm thinking maybe an anti-virus program, but why would it wait until the program is running to shut it down? I'm running VS 10.0.40219.1 SP1Rel and .NET 4.5.50938 SP1Rel. If anybody has any ideas on what to look for, I would sure appreciate your input.

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
For more complete information about compiler optimizations, see our Optimization Notice.

Is this a Fortran program? If so, which Fortran are you using? I have in the past seen a program simply exit when the stack gets corrupted. But there can be other causes. Is this a console application, QuickWin or something else? What does the system event log show, if anything, when this occurs?

AV programs could detect what they think is malicious behavior and shut the program down, but they would then usually alert the user or log the action.

Steve - Intel Developer Support

Hello Steve,

Yes, it is an Intel Fortran program. Compiler 10.1.011. It is a window application, using a third party GUI (Winteracter). The program doesn't shut down on any of the half dozen computers I have at my disposal. I've used the exact same install program that the client used.

What should I look for in the clients system event log?

Randy

Event Viewer > Windows Logs > Application. Filter for Critical and Error events. For example, on my system I see this event:

Faulting application name: OUTLOOK.EXE, version: 15.0.4569.1503, time stamp: 0x52b0b282
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7601.22436, time stamp: 0x521eaa80
Exception code: 0xc0000374
Fault offset: 0x000ce723
Faulting process id: 0x1b54
Faulting application start time: 0x01cf4f65c989f7f1