Q&A: Compute-Intensive Code - Floating point vs. Integer?

Q&A: Compute-Intensive Code - Floating point vs. Integer?

This is a question received by Intel Software Network Support, followed by a series of responses from our Application Engineering team:

Q. I've been a programmer for many years in the compute-intensive field of prepress RIP systems. A new subsystem I've written is an order of magnitude slower than similar previous code. The old code is ALL integer and the new code is mostly floating point (double precision). Can I expect a significant speedup (on 2,3 GHz dual Pentium processors) if I take the trouble to recode replacing floating point with fixed point or integer calculations only? An even mix of multiplications and additions is involved. If yes, how big a speedup is possible? i.e. what is a typical ration of FP mults to Integer mults per second?

A. The following are the responses several of our engineers provided to these questions:

1. Integer operations tend to be faster if you use "normal" code; there's typically 3 integer execution units that can run in parallel while floating point code tends to be far more serialized and has a far less effective "Out of order execution" and parallel behavior as a result (and our chips tend to have only 1 floating point multiplier). Another factor is that floating point numbers are bigger, so take more cache and memory bandwidth; depending on your application, that can be a significant factor.

There is another option next to going back to fixed point integer: SSE. With SSE you trade some precision but you can then do 4 or 8 operations in parallel. Not all algorithms lend themselves to using SSE, so it won't always work. Most compilers have assists for using SSE but in general you'll need to change your code to fit the SSE paradigm; Intel has tools for this sort of analysis. (Arjan Van de Ven)