Fortran - Basic

Fortran - Basic

I would like to make a nice user-friendly program using my old code in Visual Fortran. To build the interface, I would like to use Visual Basic. Since I have no experience with this, I would like to ask if anyone could give me an advice on where to start.
Should I convert my code to dynamic link library? Should I use component object model?
I'll very appreciate any help,
Thank you,
Milan

publicaciones de 10 / 0 nuevos
Último envío
Para obtener más información sobre las optimizaciones del compilador, consulte el aviso sobre la optimización.

Milan,

my suggestion is to build DLL and call it from GUI (in VB) (to avoid some frustration before that check carefully calling conventions in both, I mean CVF and VB). COM leave for the next step. However, all it depends on what you, eventually, gonna do with your software

Artur

Artur,
Thank you very much for your reply. The user of the final software should just insert initial settings for simulations. Then the program will run simulations for a number of hours (for example during the night). Then user should get results in the following morning. In fact, the code is pretty long, declaration of variables is done within modules and there are subroutines that call other subroutines and functions (in total 30 subroutines and functions). I tried to build DLL using just one subroutine and call it from VB, which works. But calling another subroutine within the subroutine seems to be more difficult. I'm also concerned about the data declaration. So I have another idea. Maybe I could just save initial settings to a file (from VB interface), then run the VF executable program, save results to another file and use VB to read and evaluate the data. But here the main concern comes: Once the initial file is generated (in VB), can I call the Fortran executable program (.exe) from VB environment to start running? That would save me a lot of time and energy.