ICC 13.0 backend signals

ICC 13.0 backend signals

Greetings,

I am playing with the latest ICC 13.0 to day, package 0.041 in MSVC 2010.

I am getting "backend signals" at link phase for x64 build when I mix /Qipo .exe with /Qip .lib's and vice-versa. Another issue I had, was some PDB compiler error.

from build log:

--- snip ---
" : error : backend signals xilink : error #10014: problem during multi-file optimization compilation (code 4) xilink : error #10014: problem during multi-file optimization compilation (code 4)
I can provide .obj's and .lib's as a private post (I ask for confidency) if you will not be able to reproduce the bug.

-- With best regards, VooDooMan - If you find my post helpful, please rate it and/or select it as a best answer where applies. Thank you.
publicaciones de 7 / 0 nuevos
Último envío
Para obtener más información sobre las optimizaciones del compilador, consulte el aviso sobre la optimización.

Hello,I'm not an expert in compiler but I believe if you use static libs or putting objects together you need to set the same IPO settings for all objects linking to the same module.--Vladimir

Quoting Vladimir Polin (Intel)
Hello,I'm not an expert in compiler but I believe if you use static libs or putting objects together you need to set the same IPO settings for all objects linking to the same module.--Vladimir

It was working well (mixing various IPO settings) with pre-13.0 ICC's. The static lib compiled with /Qipo just generated remarks/warnings about (not-)vectorised loops at link phase of .exe/.dll (/Qip). You just had to set correct linker settings, like link-time code generation, and so on.

Unfortunately, linking .exe with /Qipo is not so easy, since the compiler uses like 12 GiBs of RAM, though I have physically only 8, so due to swapping it lasts for more than one day to link. Hence I use /Qip, but I have few static libs, that are performance critical, and they are small, so I use /Qipo for them.