passing pointer to subroutine

passing pointer to subroutine

Hi all,

I'm new in the field of pointers and I wonder a little bit on one thing. Here is my example:

program main_program
  interface
     subroutine sub_ptr(b)
     real, dimension (:), pointer :: b
     end subroutine sub_ptr
  end interface
!   
  real, dimension (:), pointer :: a
!         
  call sub_ptr(a) 
  write(*,'(<size(a)>f6.2)') a
end program main_program

subroutine sub_ptr(b)
  real, dimension (:), pointer :: b
  real, dimension (:), allocatable, target  :: c
  integer, parameter           :: m = 5
  integer                      :: i

allocate (b(m))
  allocate (c(m))
  do i = 1, m
    c(i) = float(i)
  end do
  b = c   ! this is how it works
  !b => c  ! this is how it not works
  continue
end subroutine sub_ptr

If I assign b to c by => in the subroutine, the result of a in the main program is garbage. Doing the same just with the equal sign, a contains the expected data...

Is this caused by the fact, that all variables of the subroutine are freed, if the subroutine is finished? Then the pointer points into nirvana?

Best regards, Johannes

ps: In ifort XE 12.1.6.369 and VS 2010 SP1 the array c is not correctly shown in debug mode, when hovering the mouse on it: "Undefined pointer/ array" Also in watch window. Is this a bug?

publicaciones de 11 / 0 nuevos
Último envío
Para obtener más información sobre las optimizaciones del compilador, consulte el aviso sobre la optimización.

Cita:

Johannes escribió:

If I assign b to c by => in the subroutine, the result of a in the main program is garbage. Doing the same just with the equal sign, a contains the expected data...

Is this caused by the fact, that all variables of the subroutine are freed, if the subroutine is finished? Then the pointer points into nirvana?

Yes. If you want the target to stick around after the routine is done, add the save attribute
Cita:

Johannes escribió: