Cilk_for returns wrong data in array.

Cilk_for returns wrong data in array.

Hello everyone. I am new to multi threading programming. Recently, i have a project, which i apply cilk_for into it. Here is the code:

void myfunction(short *myarray)
{
	m128i *array = (m128i*) myarray
	cilk_for(int i=0; i<N_LOOP1; i++)
		{
			for(int z = 0; z<N_LOOP2; z+=8)
			{
				array[z]        =  _mm_and_si128(array[z],mym128i);
				array[z+1]        =  _mm_and_si128(array[z+1],mym128i);
				array[z+2]        =  _mm_and_si128(array[z+2],mym128i);
				array[z+3]        =  _mm_and_si128(array[z+3],mym128i);
				array[z+4]        =  _mm_and_si128(array[z+4],mym128i);
				array[z+5]        =  _mm_and_si128(array[z+5],mym128i);
				array[z+6]        =  _mm_and_si128(array[z+6],mym128i);
				array[z+7]        =  _mm_and_si128(array[z+7],mym128i);
				array+=8;
			}
		}
}

After the above code ran, ridiculous thing happens. The data in array isn't updated correctly. For example, if i have an array with 1000 elements, there is a chance that the array will be updated correctly (1000 elements are AND-ed). But there is also a chance that some parts of the array will be omited (first element to 300th element are AND-ed, 301st element to 505th element aren't AND-ed, 506th element to 707th element are AND-ed, etc,...). These omited parts are random in each individual run, so i think the problem here is about cache miss. Am I right? Please tell me, any help is appreciated. :)

publicaciones de 9 / 0 nuevos
Último envío
Para obtener más información sobre las optimizaciones del compilador, consulte el aviso sobre la optimización.

This code has a data race.  The increment on line 16 should  be removed, and the array indexes calculated as a function of i and z.

Cita:

bradley@mit.edu escribió:

This code has a data race.  The increment on line 16 should  be removed, and the array indexes calculated as a function of i and z.