Translate Objekt while Engine is Running

Translate Objekt while Engine is Running

Hello everyone,

I am new to havok, so I have a question, which you might have solved already, but I cant find any answers.

There is an rigidbody with Constraints. And I got a new Position for it, which should be reached by a physical translation. And there is the Problem. I have found various Method to do this job:

setTransform() - no phyiscal translation.

applyForce() - not exact translation

applyLinearImpulse() - not exact, but one can calculate the translation (ill come to that later)

applyHardKeyFrame() - i dont get it ^^

Well i have an EXACT translation, so Forces dont fit the problem, i think.

At the Moment I am using the applyLinearImpulse and set the LinearVelocity to 0 when the Position is reached. This results in a slow translation, because the constrainted object, pulls it further.

The HardKeyFrame seems to do what i want, but it doesnt work. I think i dont get it.
I thought, this function applies the velocity to reach the given point within the given timestep (the inv of the timestep)

So i tried to set the velocity to 0 after the timestep. the result wasnt even close.

I saw this behaviour in the visual debugger(Holding SPACE and dragging an Object), i would rly appreciate it, if you can say me how this works. Or gimme a ressource

Thanks

2 post / 0 nuovi
Ultimo contenuto
Per informazioni complete sulle ottimizzazioni del compilatore, consultare l'Avviso sull'ottimizzazione

It sounds like hkpKeyFrameUtility::applyHardKeyFrame() is the function you want. This is the best way to move something if you know it's desired position and orientation next frame.