Installation of Array Visualizer w/ IVF 11 and VS 2005 Partner Edition for the noob

Installation of Array Visualizer w/ IVF 11 and VS 2005 Partner Edition for the noob

Ritratto di bruppel1

I am a complete newbie in this field, but it looks like array visualizer will help me examine the contents of my arrays in the debugger when I'm debugging. I have found the instructions a little tough. I have not yet had the debugger integration working. I am starting this thread in order to collect the information I have, and eventually this will result in working steps that everyone can enjoy.

(sorry I have not posted credit to all of the individuals I have collected this information from)

System: Windows XP SP3, IVF 11 (FORTRAN), VS 2005 Premier Partner Edition

Installation Notes:
1) It looks like you need to uninstall and reinstall Intel Fortran Compiler after you make all of the appropriate setting changes. There is a post that says you do not need to uninstall and reinstall the visualizer itself. I am not sure if you need to uninstall and reinstall the visual studio environment itself.

2) The release notes post-installation instructions tell you to make some changes to directory listings in the Tools>Options>Project>Intel Fortran entry. In VS 2005 the locations of these entries appear to have changed to Tools>Options>Intel Fortran>Compilers The changes are:
# Under "Show Directories for" label on the upper-right, choose "Include files"
# In the list of directories displayed, click under the last entry and add Include
# Now under "Show Directories", choose "Library files"
# In the list of directories displayed, click under the last entry and add Lib
I would translate this to: add the Include directory to the list of Includes, and add the Lib directory to the list of Libraries.

3) An Intel poster has noted that you should not include quotes around the directory names that you add in step 2