P2P Application on Ad hoc network

P2P Application on Ad hoc network

Hi,
I am a senior CS student. As my senior project I will be implementing a P2P file sharing application with streaming capability which will run over ad hoc networks.
As for the wireless communication, my application will be using Intel 802.11b/g adapter. My question is simple; is there an available API which allows me to use the Intel 802.11b/g adapter?
Thanks.

7 post / 0 nuovi
Ultimo contenuto
Per informazioni complete sulle ottimizzazioni del compilatore, consultare l'Avviso sull'ottimizzazione

jaxvy,

Thanks for the posting. Perhaps you could provide some more details about what you hope to accomplish.Most used API for the Intel 802.11b/g adapter is the standard sockets API provided by Windows or most other operating systems you might be running on the system. Were you looking for capabilities not offered by the sockets API?

Thanks,
Lester Memmott

Since my application is going to run over an ad hoc network and the windows sockets API uses TCP/UDP, I am predicting that my application will not be using TCP/UDP because I will be implementing the (routing)network, transport layers of the ad hoc network that my application will be run on. What I want to learn is if there is an API developed by Intel (maybe the Mobility sdk can be used for this purpose?) to allow developers to control their Intel 802.11b/g adapters allowing them to send&receive data packets and maybe even more (such as maintaining routing tables, etc..)?

Thank you.

Thanks for the clarification. I was assuming that you were simply writing an application that runs over an ad hoc network but it sounds like you implementing a management utility. Intel does not have any APIs to do the network routing as you suggest. The Intel Mobile Platform SDK will inform an application when the route table has changed or if an IP address has changed but it doesn't provide the capability to manage these programatically.