Compiler parallelization in visual studio

Compiler parallelization in visual studio

Hi,

I am very new to visual fortran and I have my intel fortran compiler setup with visual studio. One of the feature that I read was the compiler can provide with parallelization and auto-parallelization is one of the techniques. For eg the sample code:

program HelloWorld

implicit none

! Variables
    INTEGER :: istat,i,j,k,m;
    real :: start,finish;
    ! Body of HelloWorld
    call cpu_time(start)
    print *, 'Hello World'
    do i = 1, 50000000
         j = j + 1
         do k=1,100
            m = m+1
         end do
      end do
    call cpu_time(finish)
    print '("Time = ",f," seconds.")',finish-start
    end program HelloWorld

Yes, every iteration my data is independant of the iteration (not very clear in the example though). What is my best option and how do I configure the compiler to do so in VS2008. The compiler version I am using is Intel(R) Visual Fortran 11.1.051 [IA-32]

Thanks

AJ

6 post / 0 nuovi
Ultimo contenuto
Per informazioni complete sulle ottimizzazioni del compilatore, consultare l'Avviso sull'ottimizzazione

You may need a more realistic case which doesn't lend itself to shortcutting to illustrate your point.  The compiler is more likely to figure out the final values of i,j,k,m than to find a way to calculate in parallel.  Assuming you mean to have the i loop divided among cores or hyperthreads, and intend to add some calculation depending on j and m, you need to make j and the starting values of m depend explicitly on i so that each thread can work with its own copy of those variables.