Using Cilk with Microsoft Visual C++

Using Cilk with Microsoft Visual C++

Hi,

I am a MS Visual C++ developer and involved in writing server side network application development. Hear of Cilk has exited me. I googled and came to know that Cilk code can be compiled with MS Visual Studio IDE but I want to know a step futher. Can Cilk be used along with MFC classes? If yes, can you please direct me to the related references.

I am sorry if this is a very basic question. I am new to Cilk and want to know how best I can use it.

Thank you in advance.

-Chintan.

6 posts / novo 0
Último post
Para obter mais informações sobre otimizações de compiladores, consulte Aviso sobre otimizações.

Hi Chintan.

You will need to get a copy of Intel Parallel Studio 2011 or Intel Composer 2011. You can find links for these products (and a pointer to the Software Evaluation Center) at http://cilkplus.org.

Before you can start using Intel Cilk Plus features, you'll need to convert the project to an Intel C/C++ project. You can do this by right clicking on the project in the solution explorer and selecting the appropriate entry from the context menu.

Intel Parallel Studio and Intel Composer ship with sample Intel Cilk Plus code. The QuickDemo sample is a fully functional MFC application that runs a quicksort both serially and in parallel using Intel Cilk Plus, updating progress bars as they execute. this would be a good place to start.

The key thing to worry about with MFC applications is that you must consider the Cilk workers to be compute threads. They should never call MFC functions directly. Instead they should use PostMessage or SendMessage to transfer information to the UI thread.

Rules for MFC programmers:

1. Only make MFC calls from the UI thread.
  2. Use Windows messages to pass information to the UI thread.