Trouble Aligning Meshes And Shapes

Trouble Aligning Meshes And Shapes

Hi all,

I'm new to Havok still, and just working my way through demos and the documentation as I try to integrate some basic physics with my current renderer. I'm currently using a DirectX 9 system.

To begin with I use a small asset editor tool to build a library of assets. This first tool allows default scales and rotations of the meshes used to be selected, as well as physics shapes (only boxes and spheres at the moment!) to be dragged out across the Asset. The next tool I use is a basic scene editing tool, and in it I can lay out a bunch of the assets created earlier. The scene is then saved to a file, including the details of each asset and it's havok shapes. The problems I'm having are when I then load that data into my renderer and re-create the havok shapes. I've been using the wonderful visual debugger to check if havok shapes and the visual meshes are lined up correctly.

When an asset is loaded from the file, all it's visual components are created, then the havok data is created and added to the world. For now all of each asset's shapes for a hkConvexShapeList to create the rigid body. I initially had quite a bit of trouble getting the data from my D3DXMATRIX over to the hkTransform for the shapes, and found that certain axes seemed to come out backwards relative to my visual representation. I ended up swapping the Y and Z axes for most of my input data (scale/size and translation/position) and that seemed to make everything line up correctly, and continue to do so when I then got the transformations from the shapes to update my visual meshes after some physics simulation. It was only after I started adding assets are more varied angles I noticed that some of the shapes still didn't line up correctly, and so I'm looking for some help with this issue please!

This first piece of code is from a loop that creates the shapes from the input data:

[CODE]

// Create Shape