Ultrabook touch screen input not detected after reinstalling Win8

Ultrabook touch screen input not detected after reinstalling Win8

Hi,

I was a developer in the recent Intel AppUp App Innovation contest, and received an Ultrabook as part of the competition. I recently purchased Windows 8 for it as I didn't have an MSDN account. Upon reinstalling Windows 8 the device no longer responds to touch input, which was working fine before. I'm guessing maybe I need a driver which wasn't supplied on the USB stick which came with the device, or need to otherwise help Windows detect the hardware.

I have tried using Intel Premier Support but it is no help. In order to request support I am required to provide the category of my support, but there is no Ultrabook section. Instead there is a list of options listing various compilers and performance analyzers.

I've tried emailing quadsupport@mailbox.intel.com for my Intel rep. No response yet, although it's only been 24 hours.

Please can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks.

http://adamdavidhill.com/
9 posts / novo 0
Último post
Para obter mais informações sobre otimizações de compiladores, consulte Aviso sobre otimizações.
Best Reply

SOLUTION - 

The issue is purely down to the edition of Windows 8.

Operating systems which DO work:

• Windows 8 Trial
  • Windows 8 from MSDN
  • Windows 7 

Operating systems which DON'T work:

• Windows 8 Pro Retail DVD OEM

From what I can see, developers without access to an MSDN subscription cannot develop for Intel Ultrabooks running Win 8 once their trial runs out.

Will drivers be released to allow "normal" copies of Win 8 to respond to touch? 

Hello , Did you find a solution.

I have encountered a same issue. I have even upgraded windows to 8.1. Yet no luck the touchscreen isnt working. 

Quote:

Dr. Philipp B. wrote:

Hello , Did you find a solution.

I have encountered a same issue. I have even upgraded windows to 8.1. Yet no luck the touchscreen isnt working.