Multiple Instance of Application with Degraded Performance

Multiple Instance of Application with Degraded Performance

I am running a large set of simulations using a Fortran application.  My standard approach is to use mutiple instances of the application to run several jobs at a time and a batch file in each CMD window so the entire set can be processed.  The number of instances depends on the number of physical cores, but is usually 3 or 4.  I have noticed a large time increase in run time when running 3 versus 1 (about 2.5 times slower), which it is still faster to run 3 at a time than 3 in series.    I use the MKL and the functions I am using are by default multithreaded.  I have found that setting the environment variable mkl_num_threads=1 helps with the slow done, but only gets it to the 2.5 times slower. I am familiar with multithreading but not how to harness it for good.  For what it is worth, I am an engineer not a programmer, so my application is very basic as are my programming ninja skills. So my first question is if I want to keep my process the same (ie multiple instances), are there other ways to help the sims from competing with each other?  I played a little with the affinity mask, both as an environment variable and through the task manager, without any luck, but this is probably because this was the first time I messed with it. Any help would be appreciated.

8 posts / novo 0
Último post
Para obter mais informações sobre otimizações de compiladores, consulte Aviso sobre otimizações.

There are others here who have more experience with such things, but my first guess would be that you are "oversubscribing" the cores in the initial case - more threads than there are execution units. Setting the thread count to 1 goes the other way and probably leaves cores unused. You may also have contention for I/O, memory or cache.