Seg. fault when using _m512_mul_pd

Seg. fault when using _m512_mul_pd

I'm an undergrad student working on some code for that is supposed to just do some simple matrix multiplication. The professor I'm working for has purchased a MIC and I'm trying to get things working using some of the C++ intrinsics. In particular I'm using _m512_mul_pd to try to multiply two  together and I'm storing the result in another vector. However, when ever I have any code that accesses the variable I use to store the result of the multiplication in I get a seg. fault. Any ideas of why this is happening and what I can do to fix it?

Here are the lines of code I'm talking about:

__m512d tmp = _m512_mul_pd(matrix[0].v, m.matrix[0].v)  //works fine

return Matrix(tmp) // causes seg fault

14 posts / novo 0
Último post
Para obter mais informações sobre otimizações de compiladores, consulte Aviso sobre otimizações.

is your data aligned on 64 byte boundary?

I think you should post more of your code. It is unclear for me what "return Matrix(tmp)" does.

In the header file I have a union defined as follows which I then use to hold the matrix data such that its 64 byte aligned.

union dvec{
     __m512d v;
     double d[8];
};
union dvec matrix[5] __attribute__((align(64)));

I then have a constructor that takes doubles and another that takes a __m512d data type to create a Matrix object, thus what Matrix(tmp) should be doing in my first post.

In the function I'm having the seg. fault in I take a single matrix object as a parameter and then then try to multiply the two together.

Matrix Matrix::Multiply(const Matrix& m){
     union dvec tmp __attribute__((align(64)));
     tmp = _mm512_setzero_pd();
     tmp = _mm512_mul_pd(matrix[0].v, m.matrix[0].v);
     return Matrix(tmp);
}