Provably Efficient

Provably Efficient

In several publications on Cilk++ and Intel CIlk the writers use the term provably efficient scheduling algorithm. I am paraphrasing here.

Being an operations research professional I have done my fair share of mathematical proofs, but, frankly,I have never had a formal education in scheduling.

I do know that scheduling is an amazing complicated field of operations research and that there are few rigorousproofs in it. Each scheduling situation is unique and there are few proofs that can be applied to it; as compared to resource allocation in which we have a simplex algorithm which has beenrigorously proved.

If there is a formal proof please give me a reference or link, if there is a paper a reference or link will also work. I just want someone to expand on that phrase.

The people that I work for will surely want to know more about this.

Newport_j

6 帖子 / 0 全新
最新文章
如需更全面地了解编译器优化,请参阅优化注意事项

The Cilk workstealing scheduler can be shown to be within a factor of 2 (worst case) of an ideal, greedy scheduler. I will try to find a link to the appropriate literature and post it here.

-Pablo

Please have a look at the following paper:Scheduling Multithreaded Computations by Work Stealing, Blumofe and Leiserson, 1994.

Please understand that I am not requesting anything that is not in the public domain. I do not want trade secrets, just a convincing argument.

Thanx in advance.

Newport_j

Intel Cilk Plus is based on the work done by Professor Leiserson and his colleagues. The paper listed is on the public MIT website.

- Barry

Thanks for the link, brunodefraine. Here is another link to the same paper, formatted a little better (actual text instead of a scanned image):

http://portal.acm.org/citation.cfm?doid=324133.324234

You might need an ACM membership to read it, though.