Getting Array Visualizer to Work with VS2008 and IVF11.0!!!

Getting Array Visualizer to Work with VS2008 and IVF11.0!!!

Ok. So there I was. Pulling what little hair I have left out trying to get Array Visualizer to work with Intel Visual Fortran. Lots of forums and searches and communications with the Fortran Dr. later, I think I got it. Beware, I am a beginner with Array Visualizer, and not much better with IVF, but that may be what some people are looking for. If I have mistakes, please correct me.

I will use the sample code called "Update" which comes with the Array Visualizer package that is a free download from Intel. I assume that the same settings are required for any project. Actually using the Array Visualizer to look at stuff in your own fortran programs will be up to you, since I haven't actually gotten that far yet. However, I am assuming that you know the basics of using VS2008 to program in Fortran. So here we go, step by step.

1. Install VS2008 - This should be easy.

2.Download and installArray Visualizer
a. The current version is 3.3 and can be download here:
http://www.intel.com/cd/software/products/asmo-na/eng/compilers/226302.htm

b. Make sureyouinstalltheVisualizer not the Viewer. Installing the Visualizertakes care of the viewer.
c. Addthe following to your PATH: C:[Install Dir]\\bin
d. Create an environment variable for Array Visualizer (same path as b. - bin)

3. Install IVF. The most current versionis 11.0.If you have it installed already, uninstall and reinstall after installing the Visualizer. This takes a while but it works.

Now it's time to start programming. (really just copying and pasting)

4.Open a new Project in VS2008 and call it Upate (it can be whatever).
a. This project can be a CONSOLE or QWIN, but later whichever one you do will matter

5. Project ->Add Existing Item ->[Array Visualizer Install Directory]\\Samples\\Fortran\\Update\\update.f90