error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol

error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol

Hello,

I am woking on a fortran code. The code makes a reference to a file named netcdf.inc, which contains the definitions of several variables to be used in the main program. This netcdf.inc file is part of the build Resource files, and yet when I try compiling I get the error "LNK2019: unresolved external symbol" for every single variable that is defined in netcdf.inc and is referenced in the main code. I am kind of new to this so I would appreciate any guidance on why this may be happening - I've tried including the various variables within the main code and forego the whole "include netcdf.inc" to see if that was the problem, but that didn't fix the bug. Within the 'netcdf.inc' file, the variables are defined like this:

integer         nf_create
   external        nf_create

For each of them. Not sure if that helps. I'm attaching a screenshot of my workspace. Thank you!

Carlos Oropeza

附件尺寸
下载 netcdf-workspace.jpg385.04 KB
9 帖子 / 0 全新
最新文章
如需更全面地了解编译器优化,请参阅优化注意事项

Netcdf typically requires that you first build and install the netcdf library, then set an environment variable which sets linker search path (or  take advantage of the linker dependencies VS project setup option).

There was a lengthy discussion at http://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/topic/281318 which is easlly found by normal search tactics.

Carlos,

Note that in Fortran "defined" has a definite meaning, which is not the same as "declared". The lines from the include file that you showed DO NOT define symbols/variables such as nf_create. They simply provide attributes (such as INTEGER and EXTERNAL) to the compiler so that it can emit correct code.

You are probably not including a NetCDF library at link time -- a library in which the actual executable code for the integer function nf_create is contained.

Hi,